When the sun rose differently today..

sunrise on bmc

I never knew her name. Not in the two years we have maintained eye contact. Sometimes in the early morning of the sun, she wouldn’t still be awake as I’d pass her makeshift bed on the pavement. But sometimes she would lift her head and wave to me. Some passersby thought that she was insane were ready to help me out and to “shoo” her away. But my smile and the wave back would puzzle them.

Today was different. I started in the same usual way. Stepped out from the wicket. Waited for my cab.

Then I saw her approaching my direction. With tarpaulin slung over her shoulder, I expected her to give me the same sweet smile that she had been giving for months and I was eager to smile back to her.

She soon came within an arms distance and recognized me. Instead of a smile she burst into tears.

“He stole everything” she cried, pointing at a group of men on the other side of the street.

Amazed, I looked at them in shock and they reciprocated the same. The building security guard waiting to wave her away from me. Time seemed to stand still.

“That one!”, she said pointing at the group hidden by the bushes on the other side. ” I had left everything under a tree and he stole it and put it under his. Even the ( couldn’t understand this word) that my mother had given me. Report him to the police. He is a thief! ”

A cab arrived and I stepped in while consoling her that I would. I saw her move forward with her only belonging, the tarpaulin, slung from one shoulder, brushing the ground against her petite frame. The cab sped off.

“She lost her husband a couple of years ago,” I told the cab driver. ” Stays on the street.”

He gave me sympathetic nod and asked me “Where to?”.

I told him the way to the design insights class and we proceeded on a quiet journey ahead. Discussing about technology, for people, who already have everything, was the last thing on my mind today.

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “When the sun rose differently today..”

  1. joyroses13 says :

    OH this is sad! You wrote it well tho!

  2. bhawnavij says :

    Thanks. Been on my mind ever since.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. And then what happened… | The Wanderer - November 16, 2015
